Paleo Cranberry Orange Scones (Plus-Replacing Refined Sugar)

paleoCranOrangeScones

I guess that place with the very cold sugar milk that has a name like a frigid rock must have it out for me.

Justin and I decided to “live it up” yesterday when we I said it would be a fantastic idea to go to Wilson’s Creek Battlefield as a family. This would have been great, except both of our kids were riding in strollers and it just wasn’t what I pictured in my head. We walked down the road (not a trail like I envisioned), got about a quarter of a mile out and I said, “We can’t go any farther because we’re going to have to walk back up this hill!” We then proceeded to walk back to our car and DRIVE around the Battlefield. I think my three-year-old son was a bit disappointed because he just kept saying that we were lost and he wanted to go home :). Things just don’t always turn out quite the way I picture them.

cashews

cashewsGround

cinnamon

cranberries

So…after my terrible idea to go walking on a “trail” that ended so poorly, Justin and I decided we would go get some cheap Mexican food from the “Quesadilla Place” and then we went as a family to the same place where I had gotten that delicious ice cream cupcake a few days ago…it’s a slippery slope, folks. Owen was absolutely THRILLED, like jumping up and down and tears of joy (ok, so no tears, but he was super excited about the ice cream). We don’t go out for sugary treats ice cream very often, and by the time we got home I think we were all three on what I would call a “sugar high.” It exists, people. Justin and I were both singing the theme to Star Wars quite enthusiastically(cheering up baby B in the car, turned into a full-on vocal interpretation), when Justin says, “Look what the sugar has done to us.” And although I countered that we can be silly and fun without sugar, he was so right.

orangePeel

I must mention here that we do eat honey, maple syrup, sucanut and stevia at home on a regular basis. All great sweeteners, none of which make us act this loopy–or start up an a capella version of a popular movie theme.

Refined sugar does something to our brains. You can read more in this article from the Weston A. Price Foundation about what refined sugar does and how you can start replacing it. You can do it!

letCool

scones

This recipe for scones uses cashews for the flour which have a natural sweetness about them and just a little bit of maple syrup. They’re a great replacement for sugary cereal, donuts, and other white flour/white sugar combos. Plus, they are officially kid approved :).

kidApproved

The original recipe comes from PaleOMG. I made some adjustments to make my favorite kind of scone: Cranberry Orange.

Paleo Cranberry Orange Scones

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups Cashews
  • 1/4 cup Arrowroot
  • Pinch Salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1/4 cup Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
  • 3 Tbl Maple Syrup
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Egg

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F & line a 9” metal pan with parchment paper.
  2. Blend the cashews in a food processor until powdered.
  3. Whisk all the dry ingredients together then stir in the cranberries and orange zest.
  4. Whisk the wet ingredients together then stir into the dry.
  5. Pour into the baking pan and bake at 350 F for 30 minutes.
  6. Let cool for at least 10 minutes.
  7. Slice, consume and share with friends! I bet they won’t even be able to tell these are made with cashews and NO refined sugar!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

