Mid-American General Tso’s Chicken

So…a little disclaimer on this…I made this as healthy as I could…for what it is. There is no MSG in this General Chicken, I cut the sugar, and I fried in canola oil :).

Generally, I do not favor Chinese Food of the take-out variety. In fact, I told my husband that often I think others’ Chinese take-out smells a lot like garbage. For some odd reason, that conversation led to me deciding to make some General Tso’s Chicken.

Just so you know, my house did not smell like garbage when I made this. And…I thought it was delicious. Justin hasn’t stopped talking about it ūüôā What a great husband. He said it was sweet like General Chicken in the Northeast, but spicy like it is here in the Midwest. Hence the Mid-American name :).

This recipe is fairly easy…no dipping and dredging, you just coat the chicken in the batter and fry. And the sauce takes less than a few minutes to make. I would definitely recommend using a dutch oven to fry in and an instant-read thermometer is very helpful as well.

Mid-American General Tso’s Chicken

  • Sauce
    • 1/3 cup cornstarch
    • 1/4 cup soy sauce
    • 1/3 cup sugar
    • 2 Tablespoons white wine vinegar
    • 1/2 cup chicken broth
    • 1 bunch scallions
    • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Chicken
    • 2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-size pieces
    • 1/4 cup soy sauce
    • 1/2 cup corn starch
    • 1 cup flour
    • 1 teaspoon pepper
    • 1 egg
    • oil, for frying (I used canola), just enough to cover chicken
  1. MAKE SAUCE Heat oil to 350 degrees in large pan or dutch oven (just enough to cover the chicken). Whisk together 1/3 cup cornstarch, 1/4 cup soy sauce, sugar, vinegar and chicken broth until sugar is dissolved. Refrigerate until needed.
  2. BATTER UP Whisk together 1/2 cup cornstarch, 1 cup flour, and 1 teaspoon pepper. Add 1/4 cup soy sauce and egg. Coat chicken in batter.
  3. ¬†GET FRYING Heat oven to lowest setting and put a rimmed baking sheet in the oven. Test heat and make sure it is between 350 and 375. Put chicken in the¬†oil in small batches. Don’t crowd the pan. Fry each¬†batch about 4 minutes. Be sure to stir the oil so the chicken¬†doesn’t get stuck together. I used 2 different sets of tongs (one for raw chicken, and one for cooked chicken). Also, I used rubber gloves so I don’t get little drops of¬†hot oil on my arms (sort of had a mad scientist look¬†going on, as you can see from the photos). You can test a nugget by taking it out and checking the temperature (about 160 degrees is right).¬†Once you remove the chicken from the oil, drain on paper towels and then move to tray in the oven.
  4. COOK SAUCE Put a bit of oil in a large non-stick skillet and heat to medium. Cook white parts of scallions until softened. Add red pepper flakes and cook 30 more seconds. Take sauce out of fridge and pour into skillet. Stir until thickened to your liking. Coat chicken with sauce, or pour on top of chicken and top with green parts of scallions.
Leave a Reply

