Homemade Yogurt in a Crockpot

So…when I tell people I make my own yogurt I get one of a few looks/comments. 1. You have some sort of magical power. 2. You’re such a hippie. 3. You spend way too much time in the kitchen. The third one is probably true…but, not because I make my own yogurt. And really it is more like multiplying the yogurt. From a half cup of yogurt (8 oz) and a half gallon of milk I make around 48 oz of yogurt. When it comes to yogurt, there are a few reasons why I make/multiply it myself. The first is because it saves money. The second is because the cheap yogurt has a bunch of junk in it. The third is because I like Greek-style yogurt, which is more expensive. So basically, I make my own yogurt because it saves money. I paid $4.88 for a 35.3 oz tub of Fage Yogurt (the best kind :)). I paid $3.28 for a gallon of milk. So, technically I could make yogurt 8 times with my tub of Yogurt if it lasts long enough, or I make enough yogurt. And I make about 48 oz of yogurt each time I make it. So compared to about 14 cents an ounce for the Fage Yogurt, my homemade yogurt is just as good and only 5 cents an ounce. Pretty big difference 🙂 I’ve tried a different method of making yogurt before, but it was more labor intensive. The crockpot method literally takes less than 15 minutes total work time. It has to sit for a long time without you doing anything…but that’s pretty easy for most people :). This method comes from Stephanie O’Dea’s a Year of Slow Cooking.

Homemade Yogurt in a Crockpot

  • 1/2 Gallon Whole Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Yogurt (I like to use Fage or another Greek-style Yogurt)

1. SLOW-COOK MILK Pour milk into crockpot and cook on low for 2.5 hours.

2. LET MILK SIT Turn off crockpot and let the milk sit with the lid on for 3 hours. If you are in a hurry or you let it sit too long, the temperature you’re looking for is 110-115 degrees Fahrenheit. You can use a candy/instant-read thermometer to check this.

3. STIR IN YOGURT Take out 2 cups of warm milk and put in a bowl. Whisk in 1/2 cup yogurt. Pour milk and yogurt mixture back into crockpot.

4. WRAP AND LET SIT  Wrap the entire crockpot in a towel and let sit 8-24 hours. (I must admit I’ve let it go longer)

5. STRAIN YOGURT (optional) At this point you could just put the yogurt into containers and refrigerate. I, however, prefer thicker yogurt, so I strain out most of the whey. To do this, line a large colander with coffee filters and put over a large bowl, or the sink if you don’t want to keep the whey. Let sit for 30 minutes or so. Pour out the whey from the bowl and flip the colander over into the bowl. Pull off coffee filters, spoon yogurt into containers and refrigerate. You can put the whey into smoothies and such if you’re into that sort of thing.

Now you decide what goes in it!

My favorite is: Yogurt, honey, and blueberries/blackberries/raspberries

Justin’s favorite is: Yogurt, brown sugar, cinnamon, strawberries

You could also try this with some Chocolate Granola! Share your favorite yogurt toppings 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt in a Crockpot

  1. I’ve considered experimenting with making yogurt before. I don’t typically eat it because I’m lactose intolerant. Do you have any thoughts on whether you can make yogurt from lactose-free milk?

Leave a Reply

